RTN 2017 Charity Places

Over the past 6 years RTN participants have raised a total of £1.4m for charity. In 2017, we have invited 13 partner charities to take protected places for riders who wish to support them. The terms and conditions for use of these places is determined by the charities involved.  The following charities currently have places remaining:

Alzheimers Scotland – Providing a wide range of specialist services for people with dementia and their carers, including personalised support services, community activities, information & advice. For more info on 2017 places contact Andrew Love ALove@Alzscot.org

North East Sensory Services – Supporting people with serious sight or hearing loss to overcome practical and emotional challenges and achieve independence. More info can be obtained by contacting Neil Skene on 01224 793954 and at https://www.nesensoryservices.org/about-us/news/218-ride-the-north-2017 

Downs Syndrome Scotland – Providing services and support to those with Down’s Syndrome, their families and carers. You can find out more by contacting Kerry on 0131 442 8840 or via Kerry@dsscotland.org.uk

CLAN – Cancer Support via centres in North-East Scotland, Moray, Orkney and Shetland. For mor information contact aimee.nekrews@clanhouse.org

Highland Hospice – The only Hospice serving adults with complex palliative care needs in the Highlands of Scotland.  Contact Lisa Long 01463 243132 L.Long@highlandhospice.org.uk

Inspire – Empowering the life choices of adults, young people and children with learning disabilities and additional support needs in Aberdeen City, Aberdeenshire and Moray. More info contact Andrew Reid 01224 280005 andrew.reid@inspiremail.org.uk

Maggie’s Centres – Providing free practical, emotional and social support to people with cancer and their family and friends, including centres in Inverness & Aberdeen. More info on RTN places can be obtained from Paula Cormack on 01224 612914 Paula.Cormack@maggiescentres.org

SensationALL – Based in Aberdeenshire and providing multi-sensory experiences for children and adults with disabilities, multiple support needs and their families. Contact Susan Kay 01224 746699 info@SensationALL.org.uk

Voluntary Services Aberdeen – VSA delivers a range of social care services in Aberdeen and NE Scotland. For further information contact Debbie.Fotheringham@vsa.org.uk

Chest Heart & Stroke Scotland – Improving the quality of life for people in Scotland affected by chest, heart and stroke illness. More info at https://www.chss.org.uk/supportus/fundraise-for-us/events/ride-the-north/- Contact Katie Jones 0300 1212 888 Katie.Jones@chss.org.uk

The Sandpiper Trust – Sandpiper are dedicated to saving lives in rural Scotland by providing pre-hospital emergency care. Contact Imogen 07793 238460 wildcat@sandpipertrust.org

The ARCHIE Foundation – Transforming children’s healthcare in the North of Scotland by funding specialist equipment & research, supporting families, enhancing staff training & by creating amazing hospital environments. Contact Claire 01224 559559 claire@archiefoundation.org.uk

Charlie House – Engaging in activities and projects which support children in NE Scotland with complex disabilities and life limiting conditions. Contact Lynn Batham 01224 218859 lynn@charliehouse.org.uk https://www.facebook.com/events/339837453059747/