Charity Places 2022

Put your efforts to good use by supporting a charity at RtN 2022

The Covid crisis has been devastating for charities …and we will work with charity partners on RtN 2022 to assist just efforts to bounce back from such difficult times.  You can bypass the entry system by going direct to any of our charity partners. They will all be grateful for your support.

Over the past 9 years RtN participants have raised a total of £2.1m for charity. In 2022, we have a number of partner charities with protected places for riders who wish to support them. The terms and conditions for use of these places is determined by the charities involved.  If you can offer your support, everyone listed below would be delighted to hear from you.

Kayleigh’s Wee Stars – Providing financial support to families based in Scotland where there is a child with a terminal diagnosis. Contact Fiona on 07775 607818 or via fiona@kayleighsweestars.co.uk

The Sandpiper Trust – Dedicated to saving lives in rural Scotland by providing pre-hospital emergency care. Contact Lorna Duff via info@sandpipertrust.org or 01764 660447

Outfit Moray – Outdoor learning and adventure charity which supports vulnerable and disadvantaged young people. Contact Karen Cox via karen.cox@outfitmoray.com

Charlie House – Engaging in activities and projects which support children in NE Scotland with complex disabilities and life limiting conditions. Contact the Charlie House fundraising team on 01224 313333 fundraise@charliehouse.org.uk

Friends of Anchor – serving oncology and haematology patients throughout the North-east of Scotland, including Orkney and Shetland.  Investing directly into research, equipment and wellbeing within the Foresterhill Health Campus. Contact Kirsty Donaldson at kirsty.donaldson@friendsofanchor.org

Friends of Neuro Ward – bringing communities, healthcare professionals and government together to spread the word about the impact of neurological injuries and disorders throughout the North East of Scotland. Contact Shona Gossip via info@fotnw.org

MND Scotland – MND Scotland provides support to everyone in Scotland who is affected by Motor Neurone Disease (MND) and funds vital research to find a cure. Contact Kim Kilgour on 07747012290 or via kim.kilgour@mndscotland.org.uk

Aberdeen Cyrenians – Providing care and support for vulnerable people in the North East. Contact Christina Maclellan, tel 0300 303 0903 ext 1013 or via Christina.Maclellan@weareac.org

Sbina Bifida Hydrocephalus Scotland –  Seeking to increase public awareness and understanding of individuals with spina bifida and / or hydrocephalus and allied conditions. Contact Lynsey Hamilton on 01236 794517 or at lynsey.hamilton@sbhscotland.org.uk

Alzheimer Scotland – Providing a wide range of specialist services for people with dementia and their carers, including personalised support services, community activities, information & advice. For more info on 2021 places contact Sarah Cheung on 0131 551 9355  or via scheung@alzscot.org

Homestart Aberdeen – Home-Start Aberdeen is affiliated to Home-Start UK, the country’s leading family support organisation. Contact Eleanor McEwan on em@homestartaberdeen.org.uk or call 01224 693545.

Highland Hospice – Providing specialist palliative care is to improve the quality of life for people throughout the Highlands. Contact Jenna Hayden via j.hayden@highlandhospice.org.uk

CLAN – Cancer Support via centres in North-East Scotland, Moray, Orkney and Shetland. For more information contact Alana Welsh on 01224 647000 or alana.welsh@clancancersupport.org

North East Sensory Service (NESS) – Providing services to achieve independence for blind and deaf people. More information about supporting NESS at RtN can be obtained from Lynn Batham via lynn.batham@nesensoryservices.org

Maggie’s Centres – Providing free practical, emotional and social support to people with cancer and their family and friends, including centres in Inverness & Aberdeen. Please contact Claire via claire.picken@maggiescentres.org

Sue Ryder – Sue Ryder Dee View Court is Scotland’s only specialist neurological care centre. We care for people aged between 18 and 65 living with long-term and degenerative neurological conditions including Multiple Sclerosis, Huntington’s Disease, Motor Neurone Disease, as well as acquired brain injuries through things such as road traffic accidents or a stroke. Contact Clare Jamieson on 07812 746697  or Email clare.jamieson@suerydercare.org

SensationALL – Based in Aberdeenshire and providing multi-sensory experiences for children and adults with disabilities, multiple support needs and their families. Contact Lisa Grainger 01224 746699 volunteering@sensationall.org.uk

Chest Heart & Stroke Scotland – Improving the quality of life for people in Scotland affected by chest, heart and stroke illness. See https://www.chss.org.uk/supportus/fundraise-for-us/events/ride-the-north/ for more details Contact Jen Lindsay via jen.lindsay@chss.org.uk

Archie Foundation – Making the difference for local sick children when they are in hospital or require long-term medical treatment. Providing training and equipment, specialist staff, child-friendly environments, and support to families. Please get in touch with Cassie via 07818 498882 or cassie.mcgunnigle@archie.org

Scotland’s Charity Air Ambulance – Supporting SCAA at RtN helps fund the operation of two helicopter air ambulances (based in Perth & Aberdeen) and two rapid response vehicles – taking life-saving pre-hospital care to the scene of time-critical emergencies all over Scotland.  If you can support SCAA contact Fiona Dennis on 0300 123 1111 or via f.dennis@scaa.org.uk

Befriend A Child  –  Supporting school-aged children who are growing up in and around Aberdeen in troubled and disadvantaged circumstances. Contact Tara Morrison at tara@befriendachild.org.uk or on 01224 210060

Guide Dogs – Making a difference through mobility, campaigning and research.  For places on the Guide Dogs team contact Andrea Williams on 07900 705100 or via andrea.williams@guidedogs.org.uk

Erskine Care Homes – Scotland’s foremost provider of care for veterans and their spouses. Contact Michael Jamieson on 0141 814 4555 or email on fundraising@erskine.org.uk