Charity Places 2019

Why not put your efforts to good use by using the event to support a charity? It’s also a way of guaranteeing your place on ride the north and bypassing the ballot process.

Over the past 8 years RTN participants have raised a total of £1.9m for charity. In 2019, we have up to 15 partner charities with protected places for riders who wish to support them. The terms and conditions for use of these places is determined by the charities involved.

SensationALL – Based in Aberdeenshire and providing multi-sensory experiences for children and adults with disabilities, multiple support needs and their families. Contact Lisa Grainger 01224 746699 volunteering@sensationall.org.uk

Chest Heart & Stroke Scotland – Improving the quality of life for people in Scotland affected by chest, heart and stroke illness. More info at  www.chss.org.uk/supportus/fundraise-for-us/events/ride-the-north/- Contact Katie Jones 0300 1212 888 Katie.Jones@chss.org.uk

Erskine Care Homes – Scotland’s foremost provider of care for veterans and their spouses. Contact Michael Parkes michael.parkes@erskine.org.uk

Kayleigh’s Wee Stars – Providing financial support to families based in Scotland where there is a child with a terminal diagnosis. Contact Tracey Morris on 07808 211565 or via tracey@kayleighsweestars.co.uk

The Sandpiper Trust – Dedicated to saving lives in rural Scotland by providing pre-hospital emergency care. Contact Shona Gray via info@sandpipertrust.org or 01764 660447

Outfit Moray – Outdoor learning and adventure charity which supports vulnerable and disadvantaged young people. Contact Karen Cox karen.cox@outfitmoray.com

Charlie House – Engaging in activities and projects which support children in NE Scotland with complex disabilities and life limiting conditions. Contact Donna Deans 01224 313333 donna@charliehouse.org.uk

The Stroke Association – Providing vital services, campaigning for better stroke care and working to find better treatments. Contact Anrdea Watt Andrea.Watt@stroke.org.uk or call 07342 049951

Befriend A Child  –  Supporting school-aged children who are growing up in and around Aberdeen in troubled and disadvantaged circumstances. Contact Claire Williams claire@befriendachild.org.uk or on 01224 210060

Guide Dogs – Making a difference through mobility, campaigning and research. For more information contact Andrea.Williams@guidedogs.org.uk

Alzheimer Scotland – Providing a wide range of specialist services for people with dementia and their carers, including personalised support services, community activities, information & advice. For more info on 2018 places contact Isabel Quinn on 0131 243 1474 or IQuinn@Alzscot.org

Homestart Aberdeen – Home-Start Aberdeen is affiliated to Home-Start UK, the country’s leading family support organisation. Contact Eleanor McEwan on em@homestartaberdeen.org.uk or call 01224 693545.

CLAN – Cancer Support via centres in North-East Scotland, Moray, Orkney and Shetland. For more information contact Ruth via ruth.mcintosh@clanhouse.org

Maggie’s Centres – Providing free practical, emotional and social support to people with cancer and their family and friends, including centres in Inverness & Aberdeen. More info on RTN places can be obtained from Paula Cormack on 01224 612914 Paula.Cormack@maggiescentres.org

Sue Ryder – Sue Ryder Dee View Court is Scotland’s only specialist neurological care centre. We care for people aged between 18 and 65 living with long-term and degenerative neurological conditions including Multiple Sclerosis, Huntington’s Disease, Motor Neurone Disease, as well as acquired brain injuries through things such as road traffic accidents or a stroke. Contact Rebecca Buchan rebecca.buchan@suerydercare.org

 

 

 

 

T