Charity Places 2020

Why not put your efforts to good use by using the event to support a charity?

It’s also a way of guaranteeing your place on ride the north and bypassing the ballot process. Over the past 9 years RtN participants have raised a total of £2.1m for charity. In 2020, we have a number of partner charities with protected places for riders who wish to support them. The terms and conditions for use of these places is determined by the charities involved.  If you can offer your support, everyone listed below would be delighted to hear from you.

Over the past 9 years RtN participants have raised a total of £2.1m for charity. In 2020, we have a number of partner charities with protected places for riders who wish to support them. The terms and conditions for use of these places is determined by the charities involved.  If you can offer your support, everyone listed below would be delighted to hear from you.

 

 

Homestart Aberdeen – Home-Start Aberdeen is affiliated to Home-Start UK, the country’s leading family support organisation. Contact Eleanor McEwan on em@homestartaberdeen.org.uk or call 01224 693545.

Highland Hospice – Providing specialist palliative care is to improve the quality of life for people throughout the Highlands. Contact Jenna Hayden via j.hayden@highlandhospice.org.uk

CLAN – Cancer Support via centres in North-East Scotland, Moray, Orkney and Shetland. For more information contact Neil Martin on 01224 647000 or neil.martin@clanhouse.org

Maggie’s Centres – Providing free practical, emotional and social support to people with cancer and their family and friends, including centres in Inverness & Aberdeen. More info on RTN places can be obtained from Rebecca Cheyne on 01224 612914 Rebecca.Cheyne@maggiescentres.org

Sue Ryder – Sue Ryder Dee View Court is Scotland’s only specialist neurological care centre. We care for people aged between 18 and 65 living with long-term and degenerative neurological conditions including Multiple Sclerosis, Huntington’s Disease, Motor Neurone Disease, as well as acquired brain injuries through things such as road traffic accidents or a stroke. Contact Rebecca Buchan rebecca.buchan@suerydercare.org

SensationALL – Based in Aberdeenshire and providing multi-sensory experiences for children and adults with disabilities, multiple support needs and their families. Contact Lisa Grainger 01224 746699 volunteering@sensationall.org.uk

Chest Heart & Stroke Scotland – Improving the quality of life for people in Scotland affected by chest, heart and stroke illness. Contact Oliver Middleton via oliver.middleton@chss.org.uk

Archie Foundation – Making the difference for local sick children when they are in hospital or require long-term medical treatment. Providing training and equipment, specialist staff, child-friendly environments, and support to families  Lynne Brooks, 01224 550129 lynne.brooks@archie.org

Grampian Child Bereavement Network (part of The ARCHIE Foundation)  Providing direct support to bereaved children and young people throughout Grampian  Lynne Brooks  lynne.brooks@archie.org  01224 559559

Erskine Care Homes – Scotland’s foremost provider of care for veterans and their spouses. Contact Karen McAuley on 0141 814 4659 or email karen.mcaulay@erskine.org.uk

Kayleigh’s Wee Stars – Providing financial support to families based in Scotland where there is a child with a terminal diagnosis. Contact Tracey Morris on 07808 211565 or via tracey@kayleighsweestars.co.uk

The Sandpiper Trust – Dedicated to saving lives in rural Scotland by providing pre-hospital emergency care. Contact Shona Gray via info@sandpipertrust.org or 01764 660447

Outfit Moray – Outdoor learning and adventure charity which supports vulnerable and disadvantaged young people. Contact Karen Cox karen.cox@outfitmoray.com

Charlie House – Engaging in activities and projects which support children in NE Scotland with complex disabilities and life limiting conditions. Contact Donna Deans 01224 313333 donna@charliehouse.org.uk

Friends of Anchor – serving oncology and haematology patients throughout the North-east of Scotland, including Orkney and Shetland.  Investing directly into research, equipment and wellbeing within the Foresterhill Health Campus. Contact Carly Munro on 01224 859016 or via Carly.Munro@friendsofanchor.org

The Stroke Association – Providing vital services, campaigning for better stroke care and working to find better treatments. Contact Anrdea Watt Andrea.Watt@stroke.org.uk or call 07342 049951

Befriend A Child  –  Supporting school-aged children who are growing up in and around Aberdeen in troubled and disadvantaged circumstances. Contact Bethany Hogg via bethany@befriendachild.org.uk or on 01224 210060

Guide Dogs – Making a difference through mobility, campaigning and research. For more information contact Andrea.Williams@guidedogs.org.uk

Friends of Neuro Ward – bringing communities, healthcare professionals and government together to spread the word about the impact of neurological injuries and disorders throughout the North East of Scotland. Contact Shona Gossip via info@fotnw.org

Sbina Bifida Hydrocephalus Scotland –  Seeking to increase public awareness and understanding of individuals with spina bifida and / or hydrocephalus and allied conditions.Contact Chantel on 03455 211 600 or at Chantal.Carr@sbhscotland.org.uk

Alzheimer Scotland – Providing a wide range of specialist services for people with dementia and their carers, including personalised support services, community activities, information & advice. For more info on 2019 places contact Val Smith via vsmith@Alzscot.org